Dinner

Comfort Food at its Finest

Tonight’s dinner was something I’ve been excited about all week.  I’m not usually one to toot my own horn and most of my dinners are good, but not anything, like, amazing, but dammit, I can make a good meat ball.

A long time ago I had some amazing quality grass fed beef that I got on an incredible sale and really really wanted to make meatballs, so I found a recipe online but didn’t exactly have everything it called for.  I swapped out almost half of the recipe for similar things I had in the fridge and it turned out AMAZING! As soon as dinner was done I ran and wrote down exactly what I did.

IMG_7885

It quickly became a family favorite and was even the parting dinner my grandmother requested on our last night in West Virginia this summer.  These meatballs are everything.

I make my own sauce, literally just a can of tomato puree, a can of tomato paste, some water, sugar, Parmesan cheese, and plenty of spices left to make a mess simmer on the stove while the meatballs cook in the oven.IMG_7896

And, of course, I just love leafy greens with tomato based pasta sauce.  Usually we do broccoli, but this week I really wanted a bang out meal for Friday, so I splurged and got a bag of Brussels sprouts.  Brussels sprouts are literally mine and the husband’s favorite thing ever.  Toss ’em in olive oil, kosher salt, and garlic and place them face down on a baking sheet to roast for about half and hour, until they crisp up reeaaal nice.  They lose that cabbage-y taste and really just take on the flavor of potato chips…but they’re Brussels sprouts.

I even went crazy and made a pitcher of sweet tea.  My dinner table was like a restaurant tonight because, dammit, we needed it.  It’s been a hell of a week, so we needed something amazing for Friday night.

No homework.

No work tomorrow.

No responsibilities tonight.

Just amazing food, iced tea, and relaxation.

 

 

Leave a comment