Sewing Adventures

Crab Child

So, my dear little kindergartener decided way back in August that for Halloween, he wanted to be a crab.

You read that right.

A crab.

The reason?

This’ll get you…

He wanted to be a crab…so he could pinch people.

Dead serious.

Well, naturally, we had no other choice but to make him a crab costume.  Because, damn, when a kid’s got that random a request and that good a reason, you fuckin’ deliver.

20171028_172542

I can sew, but I’m not great…I am more creative than skilled if you get what I’m saying.  I bought a red long sleeved shirt and cut up the sides.  Then sewed together six little legs (shush all you people telling me it’s not enough legs…I got tired and this is a homemade costume for fuck’s sake).  Basically just red fabric tubes I stuffed with poly-fil.

20171024_125741
#selfie

Shoved them in the cut sides, sewed the sides up, and viola! Crab shirt.  He says it’s super comfy…but I guess anything’s comfy that allows you to cause others discomfort.

20171024_145007

Next came the claws…oh those damn claws.

For weeks my husband said he’d make him some special claws.  Weeks.  Guess when he got around to making them.  If you guessed this Saturday, you’d be right.  The day of our party.  So he worked pretty hard, made a giant mess, and sculpted the little claws out of card board, old pencils, hot glue, and lots and lots of packing tape.  I hate to admit that they’re pretty cool.

20171030_184708

Then he dropped the bomb….he wanted me to make them red.  I was like…”Really??  You were gonna make them.”  So…just a couple hours before our Halloween party, there I am guessing at shapes and sewing up fabric covers for these little claws.  For last minute thrown together things, they turned out alright!

claw.jpg

Our little guy adored his costume and got tons of comments while Trick-or-Treating.  He even committed himself to saying “Pinch-or-Treat” at every door like a goober.  Despite having a hard time holding his bag and picking up candy, he had to wear his pinchers, refused to take them off.

It’s not very often in parenting that you get a win, so I’m going to bask in this one for a while.

Leave a comment